Skip to content
December 16, 2010 / or4green

What’s Been Up

I’ve been finding twitter more and more useful. I recently discovered @ACUPCC, which is the twitter feed of the American College & University Presidents’ Climate Commitment. They describe themselves as working to “neutralize campus GHG emissions and to accelerate the educational efforts to equip society to do the same.” They were recommended to me by a facilities engineer I know. I highly recommend their twitter feed; lots of useful leads from them.

I really like that their mission includes not only reducing greenhouse gas emissions but incorporating sustainability into university and college curricula. And many of their tweets point to examples of both. Those two missions very much match the philosophy of green O.R. in my view.

At present I am working on developing a sustainability course. It will not specifically be about green O.R., though I do intend to inject such material where possible. The intention is for it to be quantitative but multidisciplinary, so that, for example, a government major would feel comfortable taking it. And with policy being such a huge component of sustainability, we’d want those government majors in there. I also intend to include leadership issues, that is, what does it really take to implement sustainability changes in an organization. I hope to post more about this course soon. Some texts I am considering using are ones I have mentioned on this blog, such as Cradle to Cradle; The Market for Virtue; Ecological Design, plus others including The End of Nature; Industrial Ecology; The Skeptical Environmentalist; Small is Beautiful; The Nature of Economies; For The Common Good: Redirecting the Economy Toward Community, The Environment, and a Sustainable Future; and Cape Wind (thanks to Art. C for pointing me to some of these).

There are many sustainability courses out there. Ones I have checked out so far are some at MIT (via their open courseware site), a course on Sustainable Systems Management (Dr. Sencer Yeralan at METU), and some in the University of California system (thanks to @ACUPCC for this one).

If you have any recommendations for books, topics, speakers, other courses to check out, let me know. Stay tuned.

2 Comments

  1. Barry Render / Dec 29 2010 11:32 am

    I am glad to see the world moving forward in the green direction. I have seen dozens of new courses in Sustainablity pop up this last year and we now also have one in the Rollins College MBA program.I just added a chapter on Sustainability, including case studies on Frito-Lay and WalMart, to the 10th ed. of my Operations Management texts. And we blog about this topic regularly at http://www.heizerrenderom.wordpress.com as well.

  2. or4green / Jan 10 2011 10:20 pm

    Barry – thanks for the pointer to your textbook and blog – I will check them out.

Comments are closed.

